The centre's Philosofy

María Zazo – Yoga is based on the Yamas and the Niyamas according to Patanjali:

The Yamas, cover the five aspects of behaviour that need to be avoided, what must not be done, in order to maintain an ethical code of conduct in our relations with other beings and our environment:

-Ahimsa -> No violence, no hurting, life respect
-Asteya -> No stealing, no pretending or showing off
-Satya -> n lying, tell the truth, maintain purity and knowledge
-Brahmacharya -> Avoid unnecessary energy waste
-Aparigraha -> Disregard, don’t hog, don’t be trapped by passions

The Niyamas, are the five aspects of behaviour that need to be cultivated, what needs to be done so that the relation with oneself and with others is appropriate and according to Dharma.

-Saucha -> Purity in our behaviour, body cleanliness.
-Santosha -> self-satisfaction, happiness.
-Tapas -> Discipline, resistance, create the fire or the heat that transfigures you.
-Svadhayaya -> Self-knowledge, to be aware of oneself. Study of the Spiritual Texts
-Ishvarapranidhana -> Love, respect and dedication to universal knowledge.

Yoga only has a moral order organised from the inside, supplying a general guideline in our behaviour towards others and oneself; any morality exists for the yogi dependent on liberation, which is the only absolute benefit. The Yamas and Niyamas define the ethical guide of yoga. In the Western world we use it as a basis for an ethical conduct code among yoga instructors and between us and our students.

“The mind pacifies producing friendship, compassion, joy and equanimity towards situations of happiness, misfortune, achievement and discredit respectively (I.33)”